Adrian Belew - Lone Rhino

Adrian Belew - Lone Rhino
Downtempo, Avantgarde, Arena Rock, Synth-pop
  • Performer:
    Adrian Belew
  • Title:
    Lone Rhino
  • Genre:
  • Style:
    Downtempo, Avantgarde, Arena Rock, Synth-pop
  • Date of release:
  • Country:
  • Size FLAC version
    1710 megabytes
  • Size MP3 version
    1713 megabytes
  • Size WMA version
    1656 megabytes
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

Download links

Adrian Belew - Lone Rhino
FLAC format ZIP archive

1710 downloads at 32 mb/s

Adrian Belew - Lone Rhino
MP3 format ZIP archive

1713 downloads at 39 mb/s

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Big Electric Cat
Vocals [Chant] – Stan*, Stan*, The Sports Fans
A2 The Momur
Saxophone [Chalkboard Sax] – Bill*
A3 Stop It 2:44
A4 The Man In The Moon 3:46
A5 Naive Guitar 3:57
B1 Hot Sun 1:29
B2 The Lone Rhinoceros 3:57
B3 Swingline 3:25
B4 Adidas In Heat 2:44
B5 Animal Grace
Flute [Wood] – Adrian*, Bill*, J. Clifton*
B6 The Final Rhino
Piano [Acoustic] – Audie Belew (Age 4)*Written-By – Audie Belew

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Compass Point Studios
  • Produced For – Macaque Inc.
  • Record Company – Island Records Inc.
  • Distributed By – ATCO Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Island Records Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – Island Records Inc.
  • Recorded At – Cwazy Wabbit Studio
  • Recorded At – Broken Prairie Studio
  • Remixed At – Kendun Recorders
  • Mastered At – JVC Cutting Center
  • Mastered At – Europadisk
  • Pressed By – Specialty Records Corporation
  • Published By – Saiko Music Co.
  • Distributed By – Atlantic Recording Corporation


  • Alto Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Vocals – William Janssen*
  • Bass, Bass Guitar [Fretless], Vocals – J. Clifton Mayhugh
  • Engineer – Plattski*
  • Engineer [Assisted By] – Rich Denhart
  • Engineer [Cwazy Wabbit] – Rich Denhart
  • Executive-Producer – Stan Hertzman
  • Guitar, Effects, Drums, Percussion [Percussives], Lead Vocals – Adrian Belew
  • Mastered By – Larry Boden, Ron Lewter
  • Mastered By [Assisted By] – Terri Fiyalko
  • Mixed By – The Sports Fans
  • Other [Make-Up] – Chiaki Shimada
  • Other [Stylist] – Yakko Takahashi
  • Photography By – Sukita*
  • Photography By [Rhino Photo] – Kojo Tanaka
  • Piano [Acoustic], Vocals – Christy Bley
  • Piano, Keyboards – Audie Belew
  • Producer, Written-By, Arranged By – Adrian Belew
  • Recorded By [Assisted By At Compass Point] – Benji Armbrister*
  • Remix [Engineer Assisted By] – Steve Macmillan
  • Remix [Engineer] – Gary Platt


Specialty pressing denoted by "SP" suffix in label matrices, metal parts supplied by Europadisk.

Recorded at Compass Point Studios
Nassau, Bahamas in August/September 1981

Includes printed inner sleeve with lyrics.

The rhino guitar and The Adidas High School Band were recorded at Cwazy Wabbit Studio in Springfield, Illinois
The fretless guitar in A1, and parts of B1, A5, and A4 were recorded at Broken Prairie Studio in Champaign, Illinois
remixed at Kendun Recorders in Los Angeles, CA.
mixed to JVC Digital
mastered at the JVC Cutting Center in Los Angeles, CA

All songs © 1981 Saiko Music Co. (ASCAP) [insert]

℗ © 1982 Island Records, Inc. [jacket spine]

A4 "...about the death of my took 11 years and one surreal evening to put words on my feelings..."
A5 performed on Roland guitar synthesizer, wave guitar, and two cymbals
B1 performed on Fender Stratocaster
B6 " night in the Bahamas, while my amazed foot held down the sustain pedal, Audie Belew (age 4) played this very adult piano piece which I fell in love with...late I added the guitar, effectively producing our first father/daughter duet..."

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Label): ST-IL-824935-SP
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Label): ST-IL-824936-SP
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side A Matrix Etched): S̶T̶-̶I̶L̶8̶2̶4̶9̶3̶5̶-̶B̶ ST-IL824935-A 0-2 SML-3 SP LPMC ⚡ (EDP) M1SF1SKII
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 Side B Matrix Etched): ST-IL824936-A ⚡ 0-1 SML-2 a real byte! (EDP)
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side A Matrix Etched / (EDP) in a circle Stamped): ST-IL-824935-A 0-2SM2-1 SP LPMC ⚡ (EDP) M1SF1SM1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 Side B Matrix Etched / (EDP) in a circle Stamped): ST-IL 824936-A ⚡ 0-1 SM1-3 a real byte ! (EDP) M1 S̶̷̸̲T̶̷̸̲-̶̷̸̲I̶̷̸̲L̶̷̸̲-̶̷̸̲8̶̷̸̲2̶̷̸̲4̶̷̸̲9̶̷̸̲3̶̷̸̲5̶̷̸̲-̶̷̸̲B̶̷̸̲
  • Other (Variant 2 Side B Embossed Around Hole On Label): E A S T
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ILPS 9675 Adrian Belew Lone Rhino ‎(LP, Album) Island Records ILPS 9675 UK 1982
204.522, 204 522-320 Adrian Belew Lone Rhino ‎(LP, Album) Island Records, Island Records, Ariola, Ariola 204.522, 204 522-320 Europe 1982
LAE-474 Adrian Belew Lone Rhino ‎(LP, Album) Island Records LAE-474 Mexico 1982
204 522-320, 204 522 Adrian Belew Lone Rhino ‎(LP, Album) Island Records, Island Records, Ariola, Ariola 204 522-320, 204 522 Germany 1982
UICY-9237 Adrian Belew Lone Rhino ‎(CD, Album, RE, Unofficial, Min) Universal International , Island Records UICY-9237 Russia 2002

Swift Summer
This is a very important release to anyone who is into the experimental use of guitar, progressive rock, and New Wave music. Adrian Belew is of foundational importance to extremely different uses of guitar and was very influential on later players. The album is mixed pretty well, and I think it might be the thing that is better appreciated after you have heard the Belew/Fripp/Bruford/Levin era of King Crimson albums.