Jean-Claude Eloy - Chants Pour L'Autre Moitié Du Ciel : III - Erkos / IV - Galaxies (… Kono Yo No Hoka …)

Jean-Claude Eloy - Chants Pour L'Autre Moitié Du Ciel : III - Erkos / IV - Galaxies (… Kono Yo No Hoka …)
Musique Concrète
  • Performer:
    Jean-Claude Eloy
  • Title:
    Chants Pour L'Autre Moitié Du Ciel : III - Erkos / IV - Galaxies (… Kono Yo No Hoka …)
  • Genre:
  • Style:
    Musique Concrète
  • Date of release:
  • Country:
  • Size FLAC version
    1424 megabytes
  • Size MP3 version
    1156 megabytes
  • Size WMA version
    1723 megabytes
  • Rating:
  • Votes:
  • Formats:

Tracklist Hide Credits

Biwa [Satsuma-Biwa], Percussion [Metal Percussions], Voice – Junko UedaPerformer [Electro-acoustic Projection / Sound Projection] – Jean-Claude Eloy
1 Introduction 6:43
2 Biwa 1 13:00
3 Unban 16:19
4 Biwa 2 10:23
5 Choeurs 18:55
Lyrics By [Poems] – Chiyojo, Izumi ShikibuPerformer [Electro-acoustic Projection / Sound Projection] – Jean-Claude EloyVoice [Extended Techniques Of Shômyô] – Junko Ueda
6 Galaxie I - Sons D'Infinitude (1 À 4) 27:14
7 Solo Vocal: …Kono Yo No Hoka… 6:43
8 Solo Vocal: …Kono Yo No Hoka… 6:33
9 Solo Vocal: …Kono Yo No Hoka… 8:21
10 Galaxie II - Sons D'Infinitude 26:58

Companies, etc.

  • Pressed By – SNA – M0079366
  • Pressed By – SNA – M0079367
  • Copyright (c) – Jean-Claude Eloy
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Jean-Claude Eloy
  • Copyright (c) – INA


  • Design – J.-C. Eloy*
  • Liner Notes – Jean-Claude Eloy
  • Liner Notes [English Translation Of The Sung Texts] – Olia Lumelsky
  • Liner Notes [English Translation] – Meredith Escudier
  • Liner Notes [Texts Freely Translated From The Sanskrit By] – Usha*
  • Photography By [Photo Recto] – Giacomo Oteri


• ERKOS (1990-91)

("Song, Praise" / "Chant, Louange")

From the cycle: "Songs for the Other Half of the Sky" (n° 3)
Du cycle : "Chants pour l'autre moitié du ciel" (n° 3)

For a soloist of Satsuma-Biwa (plucked string instrument from Japan) using extended sung technics ("Shômyô", "Heiké-Biwa", head voice from Java, etc.) and playing varied percussion instruments (metal). With fixed electro-acoustic parts, multitrack and interactive. Scenography. Lights.

Electro-acoustic production:
Studio für Elektronische Musik, West Deutscher Rundfunk (WDR) Cologne.

This work was commissioned and premiered in 1991 bu the WDR, Cologne.
Recordings made by Radio-France at the 38e Rugissants festival in Grenoble (Maison de la Culture - Le Cargo, December 6, 1996.

Texts extracted from the Devî-Upanishad and the Devî-Mâhâtmya (in Sanskrit).


• GALAXIES (1986-96)

"Sigma" version, with the vocal solo: "... Kono Yo No Hoka ..." ("... this world beyond ...").
Electro-acoustic with female solo voice. Various vocal techniques: extended "Shomyô"; natural "head" voice, etc.

From the cycle: "Songs for the other half of the sky" (n° 4)
Du cycle : "Chants pour l'autre moitié du ciel" (n° 4)

Electro-acoustic with female solo voice (various vocal techniques: extended "Shômyô"; natural "head" voice; etc.)
Électroacoustique, avec voix solo féminine (techniques vocales diverses : "Shômyô" étendu ; voix naturelle "de tête" ; etc.)

Electro-acoustic production:
- Electronic Studio at the Sweelinck Conservatory, Amsterdam
- Electronic Studio at the Technische Universität TU, Berlin
Recordings of original sounds (samplings):
- Shô: Tokyo Gakuso studio, Tokyo
- Bonshô: Conny's Studio, Cologne (Neuenkirchen)


Includes a 28 page booklet in French and English.

© ℗ J.-C. Eloy 2012
© INA 1997

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: SACEM SDRM SACD SGDL
  • Matrix / Runout (CD1): M0079366 [SNA logo] 1 / HT 17-18 / ERKOS CD1
  • Mastering SID Code (CD1): ifpi L595
  • Mould SID Code (CD1): IFPI 1A21
  • Matrix / Runout (CD2): M0079367 [SNA logo] 2 / HT 17-18 / ERKOS CD2
  • Mastering SID Code (CD2): ifpi L595
  • Mould SID Code (CD2): IFPI 1A24

Second half of the cycle: Songs For The Other Half of The Sky. The first CD, the third part : Erkos is based on the strange interaction between Biwa & Jean Claude Eloy's electronics. In Erkos, Junko Ueda plays biwa (and sing) in the core of the Japanese Court music. The Second CD "Galaxies" (the 4th part) is very different and Ueda don't play any Biwa but she only sing during the three short parts of the center of the cd. Galaxies is mainly an electronic music piece of an hour with a vocal interlude.